Deep Voices and Cold Weather

With it being so very cold outside, I am deeply grateful for the space-heater which has recently come to inhabit my room, preventing it from being the same frosty temperature as the rest of our poorly-insulated house. Equally-happy making is the down comforter I brought up from home after Thanksgiving. Basically, the room is really cozy and you probably want to visit like right now.

Autumn is possibly my favorite season (even though I love all the seasons). There is rain, gray weather, and colorful leaves. And rain, seriously. Also, the cooling weather makes spending an afternoon curled up with a book, or a laptop, warm things, and a cup of delicious tea even more appealing. This, of course, necessitates a choice of sountrack that feels appropriately wintery. I have many rather bizarre theories on what makes certain music more suitable to certain weather conditions, and I will probably get into them at some point, assuming I keep this whole blogging thing up.

For the moment, I will leave it at this: certain sounds resonate better with me certain times of the year. That does not mean I dislike them the rest of the year, just…sometimes they’re just right. For some reason, deep-voiced indie rock feels very, very wintery to me. Good, baritone vocals with nice, brooding lyrics make me even happier to curl up with some blankets. So that you might enjoy this feeling as I have, two songs!

Midlake is a ridiculously cool band that was formed by some music students who were studying jazz at University of North Texas. The fact that they are trained musicians definitely comes across. This song, off their 2010 album The Courage of Others, is kinda folksy, really melodic, with really nice harmonies, and an intricate guitar part. I am a sucker for all of these things. I am also a sucker for the sweeping chorus, which the whole song builds to,  and the pretty lyrics. Well, actually, it’s kind of the chorus. This song is not quite in strophic form! It’s kind of through-composed, which is pretty spiffy. But you’ll know what part I mean when you get there! At any rate, song! Here’s “Children of the Ground” by Midlake.

We’re raised in a town
Where they jump on your back and sing
Leave an imprint on your shoulder blades

I also cannot make this post without including a song by The National. If you do not already listen to The National, just…start now. Noooooow. They are from Brooklyn, and consist of the very deep-voiced Matt Berninger and two pairs of brothers. Everything they do is fantastic, and this is not the only song of theirs that will show up here. It is off their newest album, High Violet, and something about this song just tugs at my heartstrings from the first note of the instrumentation. There’s all sorts of things going on there that I adore, so I’ll leave it at shit’s perfectly-produced, Bergninger’s vocals are fantastic, and everything together is just…almost too good. This song is poignant in a way that I can’t place and fantastic in a thousand ways that I can. Here is “Conversation 16” by The National. You know you wanna.

Fall asleep in your branches
You’re the only thing I ever want anymore


About Dull Life

The beast that I lie beneath is coming in. View all posts by Dull Life

Leave a Reply

