Obsessions

There are some songs I listen to over and over and over during certain periods of my life. Historically speaking, the times when I’ve obsessed with songs have not typically been the best times. I’m always surprised that I can use a three-or-so-minute piece of music as an ink blotter for my issues and still love it to bits and pieces–because I always do. I guess knowing how much a song has done for you makes it better, not worse. This is definitely one of those songs.

I got into Fiona Apple during a shitty time, while I was making shitty decisions, but hey, at least I made good decisions of the musical variety. I kind of adore Fiona Apple, a lot. Piano is one of my favorite things in the world, and she’s got this incredible voice, and just the right influences to utilize that voice to its full potential.

“Paper Bag” is my favorite Fiona Apple song by a fairly large margin. I love her voice, love the lyrics, love the jazzy (there’s a horn section!)–especially the jazz piano. She was a piano prodigy, you know? Basically, just…listen to this song. I know I have…like, eighty badjillion times.

Hunger hurts, and I want him so bad, oh it kills
‘Cause I know I’m a mess he don’t wanna clean up

About Dull Life

The beast that I lie beneath is coming in. View all posts by Dull Life

Leave a Reply

